Drew Hedditch BalletScholarship 2010

Drew Hedditch on stage in the 2010 Sydney Eisteddfod Ballet Scholarship. Photo: WinkiPoP Media

Four alumni nominated for The Telstra Ballet Dancer Award


Sydney Eisteddfod congratulates alumni Valerie Tereshchenko, Isobelle Dashwood, Drew Hedditch and Sharni Spencer on their recent nominations in The Telstra Ballet Dancer Award.

Created in celebration of the partnership between Telstra and The Australian Ballet, the prestigious award strives to foster young dancers in The Australian Ballet and help them reach their potential.

A total of six dancers were nominated for their individual and unique talents as well as their artistic quality, powerful stage presence and contribution to The Australian Ballet.

The other finalists include Jake Mangakahia and Francois-Eloi Lavignac.

Despite each having won numerous awards during their time in Sydney Eisteddfod, their most notable achievements include Valerie winning The Wenkart Foundation Ballet Championship in 2004, Drew being selected as a finalist in the Sydney Eisteddfod Ballet Scholarship in 2010, Isobelle achieving first place in the highly contested Robert & Elizabeth Albert Junior Classical Ballet Scholarship in 2012, and Sharni winning two first prizes in 2005 for Demi Character and Classical Ballet as well as being a much admired Semi-Finalist in the Sydney Eisteddfod Ballet Scholarship in the same year.

Sydney Eisteddfod wishes Valerie, Isobelle, Drew and Sharni the best of luck and is sure that we will continue to hear of more of their fabulous achievements with The Australian Ballet.