Sydney Eisteddfod

Press release: Sydney Eisteddfod Ballet Scholarship introduces the Tanya Pearson Artistry Award

30 June 2017

On Sunday 30 July, as part of the prestigious Sydney Eisteddfod Ballet Scholarship Final the ballet world will unite at the Sydney Opera House Concert Hall to celebrate the extraordinary contribution of Mrs Tanya Pearson OAM with the establishment of the Tanya Pearson Artistry Award.

The Award will be presented at the Final, which coincides with Mrs Pearson’s 80th birthday, to one of the eight finalists who displays the highest level of artistry and stagecraft in keeping with the teachings of Tanya Pearson.

2017 will mark the inauguration of the Annual award, which will be an original bronze sculpture, male or female, specially designed and forged by renowned artist Linda Klarfeld in honour of Mrs Pearson.

“I am humbled to be recognised by Sydney Eisteddfod and Australia’s ballet community with this special event. Artistry is at the heart of ballet and I am honoured that this is being recognised with a perpetual award in my name”, said Mrs Pearson.

Mrs Pearson has been a dedicated ballet teacher for more than 50 years, training hundreds of students with many going on to successful professional ballet careers throughout the world. In 2012 she was recognized with an Order of Australia for her lifelong commitment and services to dance education and in 2015 she was awarded The Ausdance Award for Services to Dance Education.

An avid supporter and contributor to Sydney Eisteddfod dating back to the early 70s, Mrs Pearson represented Dance Organisations on the Syllabus Advisory Committee of Sydney Eisteddfod between 1982 and 1985, became a Member of Sydney Eisteddfod in 1986 and then served as a Director from 1987 to 1993. 

Sydney Eisteddfod Chief Executive Piroozi Desai-Keane OAM highlighted the significant impact Mrs Pearson has had on Sydney Eisteddfod and the wisdom she continues to impart on the young dancers of today.

“Tanya has been part of the Sydney Eisteddfod dance world, as a Director, Member, teacher and supporter for many years and her contribution to promoting dancers and dance education in this time has been invaluable”, said Ms Desai-Keane OAM.

In addition to the Tanya Pearson Artistry Award, a Grand Défilé entitled ‘Salute to Mrs P’, choreographed by Queensland Ballet’s Paul Boyd, will be performed at the end of the Scholarship Final by senior ballet students from schools across Australia.

Former student of Mrs Pearson and previous Sydney Eisteddfod Ballet Scholarship finalist Hayley Page, who is now with the Hamburg Ballet John Neumeier, will return to Sydney with fellow company member Mathieu Rouaux to perform John Neumeier’s Cinderella Pas de Deux. This will be the first time this piece will be performed in Australia.

Sydney Eisteddfod Ballet Scholarship & Dance Group Finals will be held in at the Sydney Opera House, Concert Hall on Sunday 30 July, 2:30pm.  For more information visit: 

Media enquiries
02 9261 8366