Since 1933

dream. perform. achieve. inspire.

Sydney Eisteddfod is an independent, community-based, not-for-profit organisation limited by guarantee. It is also a registered charity in New South Wales and is listed on the federal Register of Cultural Organisations eligible to receive tax-deductible donations.

For over eight decades Sydney Eisteddfod has been contributing to the evolving culture of the Australian nation by nurturing the performing arts at a grass roots level. McDonald’s Australia was the principal sponsor since 1988 until 2015. Sydney Eisteddfod’s activities revolve around the presentation of the annual Sydney Eisteddfod, a competitive performing arts festival that runs from May to September and attracts around 35,000 entrants with a program of just under 350 classical and contemporary events. During this period, it provides performance opportunities for singers, dancers, actors, musicians, composers, bands, choirs and orchestras in seventeen venues across the Sydney area.

Sydney Eisteddfod operates with a small staff and an army of dedicated volunteers who are without doubt the lifeblood of the organisation. Its directors and advisors assist on an honorary basis and as Sydney Eisteddfod receives no Federal, State or Local Government funding. It exists through the generosity of corporate sponsors and private citizens plus the income it derives from entry fees, ticket sales at its venues and advertising on its website and in its annual program.

Sydney Eisteddfod also serves as a reference point for public enquiries about other competitions and opportunities. It maintains close ties with other arts organisations and is constantly on the look out for performance opportunities for developing artists.

It records its activities in InTempo, a printed newsletter it now publishes on an annual basis, its website, e-news and updates on Facebook. 

Joint Patrons 

His Excellency General The Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Ret’d) Governor of New South Wales, and Mrs Linda Hurley

Life Member

Professor The Honourable Dame Marie Bashir AD CVO


Sir Nicholas Shehadie AC OBE
Mr Douglas Sutherland AM

Artistic Patrons

Maestro Richard Bonynge AC CBE
Ms Maina Gielgud AO


Ms Angela Bishop
Ms Amelia Farrugia
Mr Joshua Horner
Ms Deborah Humble
Mr Geoffrey T Jones OAM
Mr Simon Kenway
Mr Steven McRae
Dr Nicholas Milton AM
Mr Stuart Skelton
Mr Simon Tedeschi
Ms Simone Young AM
Ms Léone Ziegler


Chairman: Mr Andew Bissex
Deputy Chairman: Mr Noel Cislowski AM
Honorary Tresurer: Mr Andrew Marchant

Mr Toby Dewar
Mr Aleks Duric
Mr Donald Mayes
Mr Barry Strong
Dr Thomas Wenkart

Ex Officio Emeritus Chairman: Mr R John Lamble AO
Ex Officio Finance Committee Chairman: Mr Mark Hancock


Chief Executive: Ms Piroozi Desai-Keane OAM
Office Manager: Ms Magda Visser
Production Manager: Ms Divya Padavarat
Marketing Manager: Ms Johanna Olminkhof
Accountant: Ms Sally Gracie

Media Liaison Officer: Ms Flora Cauchi 
Production Assistant: Ms Sophie Shepherd
Marketing Assistant: Ms Tina Grasso
Admin Assistant: Ms Maddy Tatham

Honorary Solicitors: Minter Ellison Lawyers
Auditors: Rhodes Docherty & Co