Sydney Eisteddfod

Eight Finalists Announced for The Sydney Eisteddfod Ballet Scholarship


Sydney Eisteddfod is honoured to announce the finalists in The Sydney Eisteddfod Ballet Scholarship for 2018. The following eight soloists will take to the stage in the hope of realising their dreams through this prestigious and long-standing scholarship with a total prize value of $36,000. Having made it through the Heats, Quarter-Finals and Semi-Finals, the eight selected 16-19 year old male and female dancers represent the very best of emerging talent from a total of 131 entrants.

 The 2018 finalists are:

Shontaya Smedley (Rodd Point)
Matthew Maxwell (Cleveland, QLD)
Grace Humphris (Newcastle)
Joshua Green (Wollongbar)
Matisse Lewis (Aspendale, VIC)
Kayla Van den Bogert (Goonellabah)
Jemima Scott (Auckland, NZ)
Tyler Robinson (Palm Beach, QLD)

This year's ballet finalists will perform alongside eight of the best secondary school classical and contemporary dance groups. The Sydney Eisteddfod Ballet Scholarship Final will take place on Sunday 26 August at Sydney Opera House, Concert Hall and will begin at 2:30pm.