Sydney Eisteddfod McDonald's Dance of Champions once again proves to be an outstanding success!

Since 1933.


On Sunday August 25, the 2013 Sydney Eisteddfod McDonald’s Dance of Champions filled the Science Theatre at the University of New South Wales to the rafters, and with television cranes cruising overhead, fans cheering nonstop and dancers of all types competing for a share of the $28,000 prize purse, it proved more exciting than ever.

In this spectacular dance-off between the top scoring groups from the 2013 McDonald's Sydney Eisteddfod, the best rivalled the best. There were no official adjudicators; an impartial jury selects the group it considers most deserving and the audience votes for its favourite by secret ballot, with each awarding prizes of $5000, $3,000 and $2,000 to their selected place-getters.

A school dance group from the Brigidine College, St Ives, won the People’s Choice Award, ahead of a contemporary team from the Marie Walton Mahon Academy, Lambton, while dancers from All Starz Performing Arts Studio, Peakhurst, took third prize with a modern expressive/lyrical number.

The jury awarded first place to dancers from The Conlan College, Turramurra who performed in neo-classical style. Lee Academy, Tuggerah, finished second with a sizzling jazz dance, while a character group from the Central School of Dance, Mt Hutton, came third.

The unplaced finalists received $500 each and as nobody left empty handed, the evening ended on a very happy note.

The 2013 Sydney Eisteddfod McDonald's Dance of Champions was filmed for television andl screened across the nation on Network Ten on 27 October 2013.