Petrichor Sax

Winner: Petrichor Sax; Carlo Antonioli (tenor), Laura Andrew (baritone), Mary Osborn (soprano) & Lachlan McDonald (alto). Photo: WinkiPoP Media

Rousing cheers for Petrichor Sax


Sydney Eisteddfod congratulates the saxophone quartet Petrichor Sax on its triumph in the Sydney Eisteddfod Musica Viva Chamber Music Award. Playing Quatuor pour Saxophones by Alfred Desenclos, Petrichor Sax gave such impressive performance that it wowed the adjudicators and audience alike.


Since this prestigious award was first presented in 2006, a string ensemble or piano trio has always emerged as the winner, so through this victory Petrichor Sax has etched its name in Sydney Eisteddfod history as the first wind group to take top honours.

The Hillel String Quartet claimed second prize and Trio Verano finished in third place. Bravo all!


The Sydney Eisteddfod Musica Viva Chamber Music Award was broadcast on Fine Music 102.5 FM on September 24, 2014.