Ballet Scholarship

2014 Sydney Eisteddfod McDonald's Ballet Scholarship finalists

Congratulations to the 2014 winners of the Sydney Eisteddfod McDonald’s Ballet Scholarships

Since 1933.


Bravas galore for 15-year-old Kayla-Maree Tarantolo who emerged as outright winner of the 2014 Sydney Eisteddfod McDonald’s Ballet Scholarships at the Sydney Opera House. Applause, too, for 18-year-old Daniel Russell who received the second scholarship that is traditionally awarded to the best dancer of the opposite sex to the winner.

This year, the scholarships attracted a record total of 180 entrants. Over several days, adjudicators Rani Luther and Colin Peasley followed the dancers through a series of elimination tests until only the eight who featured in Sunday night’s final remained.

David McAllister AM, artistic director of The Australian Ballet announced the awards and assisted adjudicators in the final decision-making. Mr McAllister congratulated the winners on their success. Then, pointing out that the standard of this year’s competition was exceptionally high, he told the other six finalists that by out-performing over 170 others, they had reason to be proud of their achievement.

The other finalists who made this year’s final one of the most outstanding in Sydney Eisteddfod history were Matthew Bradwell, Bethany Cockburn, Noah Dunlop, Chiara Gonzalez, Sasha Leong and Sera Schuller.

2014 Ballet Scholarship winners

Kayla-Maree Tarantolo and Daniel Russell, winners of the 2014 Sydney Eisteddfod McDonald's Ballet Scholarships. Photo by WinkiPop Media.