Nicholas Tolputt Website

2016 Sydney Eisteddfod Opera Scholarship Winner Nicholas Tolputt on stage. Photo: WinkiPoP Media

2017 Opera Scholarship Judges Revealed


Sydney Eisteddfod is honoured to introduce two major names in Australian Opera as the judges for the 2017 Sydney Eisteddfod Opera Scholarship.  Anson Austin OAM and Peter Coleman-Wright AO will join forces and professional opinion to award this year’s winner. Both have celebrated careers and are sure to impart a great deal of wisdom on to all performers. 

Anson sang as a Principal Tenor with Opera Australia for thirty-four years before retiring in 2004. During this time he performed over fifty major roles with the national company, encompassing most of the standard operatic lyric tenor repertoire. He was awarded the OAM in 1993 and was appointed to the Board of Opera Australia in 2005.

Anson Austin

2017 judge Anson Austin OAM.

Peter has performed over 65 roles with all the major Opera Houses throughout the world, including the Metropolitan Opera New York, Covent Garden London, Paris Bastille, Teatro La Fenice Venice and La Scala Milan. He was awarded an Honorary Doctorate from Melbourne University in 2011 and an AO during the 2016 Queens Birthday Honours. 

Peter ColemanWright

2017 judge Peter Coleman-Wright AO.